Ottawa, ON, May 15, 2024 – Equestrian Canada (EC) is pleased to announce the 2023 National Award recipients, recognized for their impressive achievements and contributions to the growth and success of the Canadian equestrian community.

EC would like to thank everyone who participated in the 2023 EC National Awards process, including the many individuals who submitted nominations to support deserving individuals. Across the board, the quality of the nominations was extremely high, which is a testament to the world-class athletes, owners, officials, organizations, volunteers, and supporters within the Canadian equestrian industry. 

Please join us in congratulating the following recipients. Stories and more information on the winners will be published in the coming weeks!


Lifetime Achievement Award: Craig Collins

Equestrian of the Year – The Dr. George Jacobsen Trophy: Lindsay Traisnel

Junior Equestrians of the Year – The Gillian Wilson Trophy: William Martin

Horse of the Year: Bacyrouge

  • Owner: Patricia Pearce

Canadian Bred Horse of the Year: Summerwood’s Limei (Londonderry x Weltmeyer)

  • Owner: Beatrice Boucher
  • Breeder: Lynda Tétreault & Claude Ménard

Owner of the Year: Patricia Pearce

Canadian Breeder of the Year, Presented by John Deere: Tara Lambie 

Coach of the Year: Jeanine van der Sluijs

Official of the Year: Peter Gray

Volunteer of the Year: Patricia Frewen-Lord

EC would also like to thank the Recognition and Awards Committee for their time and effort in selecting the recipients, with support and input from EC stakeholders and experts. The 2023 EC Awards Committee is comprised of Peggy Hambly (Chair), Jennifer Anstey, Julie Brewster, Alison Martin, and Taylor McRae. 

For more information, click here.